View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:02 am




Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
 Sims 3 on Origin 
Author Message
Sim Goddess
Sim Goddess

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:31 am
Posts: 2152
Age: 0
Post Sims 3 on Origin
This is something that maybe my final decision on rather or not to continue buying Sims 3 expansion packs.

Do you require an EA Origin account for The Sims 3 Pets?


Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:11 am
Profile
Historia Crux
Historia Crux
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 18394
Location: Radiant Garden
Name: Erhama
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Roleplay: Roxlar Trein
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Do you want your privacy? Because installing Origin means you give them the right to look into your files, programs and how you use them, this also gives them permission to take what you do and sell it/use it.

_________________
Image
Image


Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:43 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:22 pm
Posts: 412
Age: 0
Gender: Female
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
I must've been out of the loop because I hadn't heard of Origin. With a little research, I'm not liking what I'm reading. Will we have to have a continuous connection to the internet to play Pets? I certainly hope not! I keep that option ticked off in the Options screen of TS3 that allows info sharing with EA. It's none of their damn business what's on my computer, once I've bought their game and installed it. (EDIT: To those who say, well, you shouldn't have anything on your computer you're ashamed of, I say there's nothing on there I am ashamed of, but there's plenty of stuff that is very private -- my children's names and photos, past years' tax returns, and so on.)

Wonder if this Origin thing will work out as well for EA as SecuROM did???


Sat Aug 27, 2011 3:10 pm
Profile
Custom Title
Custom Title
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:28 am
Posts: 7040
Location: New Jersey
Name: Derek
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
As far as I'm concerned, Origin (as was EADM) is inefficient, malicious, and optional. I get patches faster by directly downloading them, and they are standalone .exe's so no program should be required in conjunction with them. Now, maybe I'm misInformed about the contense of this thread (EA Requiring Origin in Pets?) but to add to my thoughts, if EA requires origin, I'm sure there will be a way around it. It's like the launcher. You need it to start the game but the game has a standalone .exe (ts3w.exe) so there's no reason to have to depend on it.

_________________
Image
>>> Check Out The Casper Legacy!


Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:33 pm
Profile
Sim Goddess
Sim Goddess

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:31 am
Posts: 2152
Age: 0
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
So it's not going to be exclusive to Origin like Battlefield 3?


Sun Aug 28, 2011 1:29 am
Profile
Sims Addict
Sims Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:40 pm
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
I just read that about Origin.

Can EA really do such a thing? Isn't that illegal?

Anyway, I uninstalled mine... I don't buy stuff on Origin, so do I need it for something else while playing The Sims 3? Do I need it for updates?


Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:34 pm
Profile
Sim Goddess
Sim Goddess

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:31 am
Posts: 2152
Age: 0
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
You might need an Origin account just to be able to play the game if EA decided to go full on Steam on everybody. That is what I was mainly asking about.


Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:41 pm
Profile
Adrenergic
Adrenergic
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 4:30 am
Posts: 7840
Location: SC, United States
Name: Kristin
Age: 29
Gender: Female
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Icewolf wrote:
I just read that about Origin.

Can EA really do such a thing? Isn't that illegal?

Anyway, I uninstalled mine... I don't buy stuff on Origin, so do I need it for something else while playing The Sims 3? Do I need it for updates?


I had to install it to update. :l

_________________
Charis humin kai eirēnē ϟ Image
Actually I prefer to be called ‘Ruler of All That is Evil’, but I will answer to Satan.
dearlace ~ simblr ~ skittles rainbowcy

John: I call shotgun.
Cameron: I call nine millimeter.


Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:23 pm
Profile WWW
Sims Addict
Sims Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:40 pm
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Kira wrote:
Icewolf wrote:
I just read that about Origin.

Can EA really do such a thing? Isn't that illegal?

Anyway, I uninstalled mine... I don't buy stuff on Origin, so do I need it for something else while playing The Sims 3? Do I need it for updates?


I had to install it to update. :l


Okay :/

Oh well, I will keep it uninstalled untill I have to update the game again :nod:


Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:19 am
Profile
Historia Crux
Historia Crux
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 18394
Location: Radiant Garden
Name: Erhama
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Roleplay: Roxlar Trein
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Honestly, don't install it at all. Just get your updates as standalone .exe files.

_________________
Image
Image


Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:07 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Sim Goddess
Sim Goddess

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:31 am
Posts: 2152
Age: 0
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Fangə wrote:
Honestly, don't install it at all. Just get your updates as standalone .exe files.


What standalone .exe files?


Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:31 am
Profile
Historia Crux
Historia Crux
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 18394
Location: Radiant Garden
Name: Erhama
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Roleplay: Roxlar Trein
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
http://www.simprograms.com/the-sims/the ... 3-patches/

That's the index, you can find links such as
Code:
http://akamai.cdn.ea.com/eadownloads/u/f/sims/sims3/patches/TS3_1.24.3.0120xx_update.exe


Which are the updates you need. You don't need Origin unless explicitly told to play the game. Or you could install Origin but block it from going further than your computer except for updates.

_________________
Image
Image


Wed Aug 31, 2011 2:25 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Sim Goddess
Sim Goddess

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:31 am
Posts: 2152
Age: 0
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
If I could download patches from SimPrograms.

Does this mean I no longer need the EA Download Manager?

Can I uninstall it without worries of messing something up?


Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:52 pm
Profile
Custom Title
Custom Title
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:28 am
Posts: 7040
Location: New Jersey
Name: Derek
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Spode wrote:
If I could download patches from SimPrograms.

Does this mean I no longer need the EA Download Manager?

Can I uninstall it without worries of messing something up?


I can't give you an 100% guarentee of not messing stuff up but yeah! That's the way to go, honestly.

_________________
Image
>>> Check Out The Casper Legacy!


Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:19 pm
Profile
Sim Goddess
Sim Goddess

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:31 am
Posts: 2152
Age: 0
Post Re: Sims 3 on Origin
Swatme101 wrote:
Spode wrote:
If I could download patches from SimPrograms.

Does this mean I no longer need the EA Download Manager?

Can I uninstall it without worries of messing something up?


I can't give you an 100% guarentee of not messing stuff up but yeah! That's the way to go, honestly.


I tried to download the most recent patch, but it told me it was the wrong region. I did click the wrong download link? Also, does it matter if I click on either The Sims 3 or Generations logo? I heard patches work differently now.


Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:53 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.